Secrets from Kabul

I hadn’t seen him in so long. Now all of a sudden people were calling him pastor. Pastor of what I wondered? This has to be a bad joke. I walked up to David and tapped him on the shoulder. He was so excited to see me. He was clean shaven, smelt exquisite and his face and complexion were so smooth. I looked at him and my lips pursed and I involuntarily gave an “Oooo” sound. He did look scrumptious. I couldn’t remember the last time I saw him.

I reached out to shake his hand and he grabbed me by my waist and lifted me in the air and hugged me. I don’t recall us ever being that close but for a young lad who looked that great I wasn’t going to fight back. He put me down as I let out a childish giggle. He looked at me and told me, “uko sawa!!” I blushed harder. Goodness time made him like fine wine. I grabbed him by his forearm and ushered him to another side of the room.

“Where have you been hiding?” I couldn’t remember the last time we spoke. “I know it’s been a year since we last saw each other let alone spoke.” David retorted. There was something about him that was very different. At the time I couldn’t put a finger on what it was. “I was in Afghanistan.” I laughed, no way! Next he would use those silly movie war story intro lines, “When I was in (Viet)Nam….” I laughed really hard. His smile was beginning to fade the more I laughed. “You are serious.” He nodded as he sipped on his drink. “How did you end up there?”

David pulled me to another room. I hesitated at the door and he shook his head as if he could read my mind. “I know better than that Rachael.” I went in and he patted a section of the bed next to him. The door was ajar. “What else was I meant to do?” he quizzed as I sat down.

“What are you going on about?” I knew he was not working for the Kenyan military in Afghanistan. David what were you doing there? “Driving trucks mostly.” The conversation was getting a bit frustrating. I could tell from his eyes that he was withholding something. I sensed it involved either guilt or pain or both. Something was broken inside him. “It at least got me this house.” 3 storey home on 6 acres was a mean fete but at what cost? Why was David so friendly with someone he rarely ever spoke to before he left just a year ago? Why did he feel the need to confide in me?

Leave a Reply

